1. GoGetters Community is no longer actively maintained, and will be closing down in the future. Thankyou for your participation in this project. [ Details ]
    Dismiss Notice

Brainstorming Get a first in my degree.

Discussion in 'Money' started by Tom, Mar 7, 2018.

1. Tom

Tom Active Member

Rating points:
    Action points:
    Result points:
    So I'm currently in my 4th year of my geology integrated masters. I've noticed discipline has been lacking lately and partly a response to actually having some form of a social life for the first time in my life.

This year I have a third year module with an additional 5 credit literature review and a 15 minute seminar open to anyone. I'm busy working on these. The literature review is due in on the 16th March (2000 words) and seminar after Easter with no set date.

This is going OK.

My masters is 10,000 - 15,000 words due in 10th May. I'm sat on a 2000 with my lab work done and plots/graphs nearly done. I have microscope work to finish, lit review to finish and temperature and pressure calculations, methodology and conclusion left to do.

So this is all my work from now till graduation. I want a first and I just need to maintain 70%. Currently sat on 77% after my recent grades (Christmas exams) for 30 credits with 15 credits worth of marks yet to come out.

So I just need standard firsts.

To get this, I need to hit that 10,000 words on my report before Easter break which starts 21st March. This is an insane goal so I'm thinking hitting 8000 with a brutal proof read and word cull over (lose 1000 words) Easter then finish of the words in April. Trouble is I have the third year module work due in soon, with more work coming on the 16th after the literature review submission.

Essentially as of starting this goal, I need to do 500 words a day on my masters project. This is going to be insane but it will put me ~3000 words ahead of the masters cohort.